INFO

BIO

Throughout Tanyas musical career, there has been a constant display of passion and devotion.   Her spicy stage presence is marked with exuberance and excitement, her playing and rhythm is consistently solid and her 3-octave voice sways from rich, deep and powerful, to soft, subtle and sensuous.  This Canadian artist has been performing for audiences for over 20 years and has won 3 awards from the Calgary Folk Festival Song writing Competition including The Arusha Song for Social Justice (2009), Best LIVE Performance (2008) and Best Lyrics (2005).  With the ability to weave a tale, along with fresh, crisp lyrics, stage charisma and charm,Tanya has also won awards with the Jasper Folk Festival biannual competition (2003 & 2005) for best LIVE performance.  

 

Since relocating to BC in 2009, Tanya has recorded 8 albums, plus she has 4 albums which were recorded between 2004-2008 in Jasper, Alberta.  She is currently working on 2 more albums and has performed across Canada playing with and/or opening for superb musicians, some of whom have been listed beside this text.

 

Born August 14, 1981 in Edmonton, Alberta  and raised in the Ottawa Valley, Tanya was interested in music and performance at a young age.  She starred in numerous plays and musicals which included starring as Anne Shirley in Canadas favourite Anne of Green Gables.  At 11 years old, she joined the school band playing clarinet and trumpet.  She started writing proper songs when she was 12, got her first guitar and keyboard when she was 13 and a mandolin at 16.  Over the next decade, she picked up the bass, drums, various percussive instruments and most notable, the Boss RC300 Triple Phrase Loop Pedal.  This new tool has allowed her to build a band and a wall of sound in front of the audience's eyes laying all instrument tracks LIVE.  

 

Currently Tanya resides in Vernon, BC with her partner and 3 children and is recording her 13th album. She has built a recording studio in her home and is excited to support talented local youth, in achieving their musical dreams and goals. Lipscomb is always preparing for another tour, continually playing festivals, house concerts, jazz clubs, pubs, restaurants, cafes and bars, promoting her albums.  A busy musician, composer, producer and writer, you may also find Tanya Lipscomb performing as her alter ego- children's entertainer "Kiki the Eco Elf".  Or perhaps playing with various bands, singing in a choir or performing with the Okanagan sensation "The Dharma Dolls" a trio made up of Lipscomb, New York coloratura soprano Melina Moore and bi-lingual jazz chanteuse Judy Rose.

DISCOGRAPHY

2014- If I Were A Unicorn  (Kiki the Eco Elf)

2013- Love & Truth

2013- Raise Your Vibration

2012- Children Of The Earth  (Kiki the Eco Elf)

2012- Around The World On A Loop Pedal

2011- Revolutionary

2010- Sing Your Song

2010- Kiki The Eco Elf 

2008- Be The Difference

2006- Another Living Room Session

2005- The Living Room Sessions

2004- Tanya Lipscomb (Cassette)

PERFORMED WITH

OR OPENED FOR

*Luluk Purwanto                www.luluk.com

*Russel Jackson Band      www.myspace.com/therusselljacksonbandpage      

*Buddy Guy                        www.buddyguy.net

*Lonnie Shields Band        www.lonnieshields.com       

*Tom Cochrane                  www.tomcochrane.com

*The Goods                         www.myspace.com/thegoodsbc

*Mystic Bowie                     www.mysticbowie.com

*Jon Buller                          www.jonbuller.com

*Jason Buie Band               www.jasonbuieband.com

*Mama Guroove                  www.myspace.com/mamaguroove

*Wide Mouth Mason           www.widemouthmason.com

*Danielle French                  www.daniellefrench.com

*Plaid-tongued Devils         www.thedevils.com

.